The Footplate Experience - Diesel Driving Experience
Shopping Cart - 0 Items | Total: £0.00

Every journey ends with a memory.

Diesel Footplate Experience

Realise a lifelong ambition with us

A fantastic opportunity to drive a diesel locomotive

Diesel Footplate Experience . . .

£365 per person

There is nothing quite like the sight and sound of a diesel locomotive in full cry! Choose your locomotive and experience the power and surge of adrenaline as you take the controls of your favourite Class on our full day Experience, including a tour of Kidderminster Diesel Depot!

Our Diesel Footplate Experiences operate throughout the year utilising our heritage fleet of diesel electric and hydraulic locomotives. The train normally consists of six carriages, weighing approximately 200 tons in which up to six of your guests can travel free of charge.

Diesel locomotives used:

  • Class 33 - No. 33108
  • Class 37
  • Class 40
  • Class 42 'Warship' - No. D821 Greyhound
  • Class 50 - No. 50031 Hood, No. 50035 Ark Royal or No. 50049 Defiance
  • Class 52 'Western' - No. D1015 Western Champion or No. D1062 Western Courier
  • Class 55 'Deltic No. 55019 Royal Highland Fusilier
What's included:
  • Safety briefing before the session commences.
  • Tour of the locomotive engine room, including a start-up procedure demonstration.
  • Travel in the cab; driving for 8 miles, and acting as second man for 8 miles. A further 16 miles is spent in the rear cab of the locomotive (only available when locomotives with 2 cabs are used), and an additional 32 miles spent riding in the private train pulled by the locomotive.
  • Travelling a total journey of 64 miles; going through Bewdley Tunnel, over Victoria Bridge and up Eardington Bank.
  • Tour of award-winning Kidderminster Diesel Depot
  • Only 8 participants per experience.
  • You can bring along up to 6 guests only who can travel in the carriages behind the locomotive (guests must be over the age of 5) free of charge.
  • Opportunities for photographs.
  • A presentation folder with a certificate and memento of your experience.
Starting at 9.30am, the Experience runs from Kidderminster to Bridgnorth, and return, twice during the day, finishing at 7pm.

Date Class
Price Availability
Tuesday 7th May
Class 42
£365
Places available
Wednesday 8th May Class 55 £365 Places available
Thursday 9th May Class 55 £365 Places available
Monday 13th May Class 55 £365 Places available
Tuesday 14th May  Class 55 £365 Places available
Tuesday 21st May  Class 55 £365 Places available
Wednesday 22nd May  Class 55 £365 Places available
Thursday 23rd May Class 55 £365 Places available
Sunday 2nd June Class 42 £365 Places available
Monday 10th June Class 50 £365 Places available
Sunday 16th June Class 50 £365 Places available
Monday 17th June Class 50 £365 Places available
Sunday 14th July Class 42 £365 Places available
Monday 15th July Class 42 £365 Places available
Sunday 21st July Class 52 £365 Places available
Monday 22nd July  Class 52 £365 Places available
Monday 29th July Class 33 £365 Places available
Sunday 4th August Class 37 £365 Places available
Monday 5th August Class 37 £365 Places available
Monday 12th August Class 50 £365 Places available
Sunday 18th August Class 40 £365 Places available
Monday 19th August Class 40 £365 Places available
Sunday 8th September Class 52 £365 Places available
Monday 9th September Class 52 £365 Places available
Friday 13th September Class 52 £365 Places available

Email to make an enquiry    Call 01562 757900 to book

The Engine House
train cut out