The Footplate Experience - Intermediate Course
Shopping Cart - 0 Items | Total: £0.00

Every journey ends with a memory.

Taster Footplate Experience

Realise a lifelong ambition with us

A fantastic opportunity to drive a steam locomotive

Taster Footplate Experience . . .

£175 per person

Try your hand at driving and firing one of our small steam locomotives between Bewdley and Kidderminster. Locomotives normally used on the Taster Footplate Experiences: 813, 1450, 1501 or 7714. (subject to availability). 

What's included:

  • Safety briefing before the session commences. 
  • Detailed instruction on how to drive and fire a steam locomotive.
  • Only 4 participants per Experience, driving and firing in pairs.
  • Travel on the footplate, driving and firing, for 4 miles (approximately 15 minutes). 
  • Travelling a total journey of 8 miles.
  • You can bring along up to 3 guests only who can travel in the carriage behind the locomotive (guests must be over the age of 5) free of charge.
  • 2 complimentary "Freedom of the Line" travel tickets for the day are provided for the driver and 1 guest, so you can spend a whole day with us before or after your Footplate Experience.
  • Opportunities for photographs.
  • A presentation folder with a certificate and memento of your Experience.

The Experiences in 2020 will take place on the following dates:

Dates Timings Starting Station Price
Availability
Saturday 22nd February  12.50pm, 2.25pm Bridgnorth £175 Places available
Sunday 23rd February 12.50pm, 2.25pm Bridgnorth £175 Places available
Saturday 29th February 12.50pm, 2.25pm Bridgnorth £175 Places available
Sunday 1st March 12.50pm, 2.25pm Bridgnorth £175 Fully booked
Saturday 14th March 12.50pm, 2.25pm Bridgnorth £175 1 Place remaining
Sunday 15th March 12.50pm, 2.25pm Bridgnorth £175 Places available
Saturday 21st March 12.50pm, 2.25pm Bridgnorth £175 1 Place remaining
Sunday 22nd March 12.50pm, 2.25pm Bridgnorth £175 Fully booked
Thursday 21st May 9.45am, 11.45am, 1.45pm, 3.45pm Bewdley £175 Places available
Thursday 28th May 9.45am, 11.45am, 1.45pm, 3.45pm Bewdley £175 Places available
Thursday 25th June 9.45am, 11.45am, 1.45pm, 3.45pm Bewdley £175 Places available
Thursday 2nd July 9.45am, 11.45am, 1.45pm, 3.45pm Bewdley £175 Places available
Thursday 16th July 9.45am, 11.45am, 1.45pm, 3.45pm Bewdley £175 Places available
Thursday 6th August 9.45am, 11.45am, 1.45pm, 3.45pm Bewdley £175 Places available

Email to make an enquiry    Call 01562 757900 to book

The Engine House
train cut out