Royal Saloon Guided Tours
Step back in time in the Royal Saloon of King George VI!
Join our guided tours around this magnificent carriage between 11am and 2pm on:
- August 5th, 6th, 7th, 8th, 10th, 13th, 14th, 15th, 17th, 18th, 19th, 20th, 21st, 22nd, 24th, 27th, 28th, 29th, 31st.
- September 2nd, 4th, 6th, 11th, 12th, 17th, 18th, 19th, 23rd, 25th.
In 1941, the LMS
built two Royal Saloon carriages for King George VI and H.M. Queen
Elizabeth (later the Queen Mother), to enable them to travel around the
country safely during the Second World War. Each coach was fitted with
an armour-plated steel roof and side panelling mounted on a steel welded
framework. The windows were also fitted with armour plated shuttering.
The two Royal Saloons were the heaviest railway carriages to run in
Britain, weighing 56 tons apiece and were also unusually long, being
almost 70 ft in length.
King George's saloon was later used by H.R.H. Prince Philip as
part of the royal train until 1977, after which it was presented to the NRM. It arrived on the Severn Valley Railway in 2010, and can be found in The Engine House at Highley.
Share this page: