The Footplate Experience - Diesel Driving Experience
Shopping Cart - 0 Items | Total: £0.00

Every journey ends with a memory.

Diesel Footplate Experience

Realise a lifelong ambition with us

A fantastic opportunity to drive a diesel locomotive

Diesel Footplate Experience . . .

£365 per person

There is nothing quite like the sight and sound of a diesel locomotive in full cry! Choose your locomotive and experience the power and surge of adrenaline as you take the controls of your favourite Class on our full day Experience, including a tour of Kidderminster Diesel Depot!

Our Diesel Footplate Experiences operate throughout the year utilising our heritage fleet of diesel electric and hydraulic locomotives. The train normally consists of six carriages, weighing approximately 200 tons in which up to six of your guests can travel free of charge.

Diesel locomotives used:

  • Class 37 - No. 37688
  • Class 40 - No. 40106 Atlantic Conveyor
  • Class 42 'Warship' - No. D821 Greyhound
  • Class 50 - No. 50031 Hood, No. 50035 Ark Royal or No. 50049 Defiance
  • Class 52 'Western' - No. D1015 Western Champion or No. D1062 Western Courier
What's included:
  • Safety briefing before the session commences.
  • Tour of the locomotive engine room, including a start-up procedure demonstration.
  • Travel in the cab; driving for 8 miles, and acting as second man for 8 miles. A further 16 miles is spent in the rear cab of the locomotive (only available when locomotives with 2 cabs are used), and an additional 32 miles spent riding in the private train pulled by the locomotive.
  • Travelling a total journey of 64 miles; going through Bewdley Tunnel, over Victoria Bridge and up Eardington Bank.
  • Tour of award-winning Kidderminster Diesel Depot
  • Only 8 participants per experience.
  • You can bring along up to 6 guests only who can travel in the carriages behind the locomotive (guests must be over the age of 5) free of charge.
  • Opportunities for photographs.
  • A presentation folder with a certificate and memento of your experience. 
Dates Timings
Starting Station  Price
Loco Class  Availability
Sunday 26th April 9.45am - 6.45pm Kidderminster £365 TBC Places available
Monday 4th May 9.45am - 6.45pm Kidderminster £365 TBC Places available
Monday 11th May 9.45am - 6.45pm Kidderminster £365 TBC Places available
Sunday 31st May 9.45am - 6.45pm Kidderminster £365 TBC Places available
Monday 1st June 9.45am - 6.45pm Kidderminster £365 TBC Places available
Sunday 7th June 9.45am - 6.45pm Kidderminster £365 TBC Places available
Sunday 14th June 9.45am - 6.45pm Kidderminster £365 TBC Places available
Sunday 21st June 9.45am - 6.45pm Kidderminster £365 TBC Places available
Monday 22nd June 9.45am - 6.45pm Kidderminster £365 TBC Places available
Monday 29th June 9.45am - 6.45pm Kidderminster £365 TBC Places available
Sunday 12th July 9.45am - 6.45pm Kidderminster £365 TBC Places available
Monday 13th July 9.45am - 6.45pm Kidderminster £365 TBC Places available
Sunday 19th July 9.45am - 6.45pm Kidderminster £365 TBC Places available
Monday 20th July 9.45am - 6.45pm Kidderminster £365 TBC Places available
Sunday 26th July 9.45am - 6.45pm Kidderminster £365 TBC Places available
Monday 27th July 9.45am - 6.45pm Kidderminster £365 TBC Places available
Sunday 2nd August 9.45am - 6.45pm Kidderminster £365 TBC Places available
Monday 3rd August 9.45am - 6.45pm Kidderminster £365 TBC Places available
Monday 10th August 9.45am - 6.45pm Kidderminster £365 TBC Places available
Sunday 16th August 9.45am - 6.45pm Kidderminster £365 TBC Places available
Monday 17th August 9.45am - 6.45pm Kidderminster £365 TBC Places available
Sunday 23rd August 9.45am - 6.45pm Kidderminster £365 TBC Places available
Monday 24th August 9.45am - 6.45pm Kidderminster £365 TBC Places available
Monday 7th September 9.45am - 6.45pm Kidderminster £365 TBC Places available
Sunday 13th September 9.45am - 6.45pm Kidderminster £365 TBC Places available
Monday 14th September 9.45am - 6.45pm Kidderminster £365 TBC Places available

Please note that Class specific details will not be known until the end of January when the diesel running calendar for 2020 is released. Once the Class details are released, they will be updated above.

Email to make an enquiry    Call 01562 757900 to book

The Engine House
train cut out