The Footplate Experience - Diesel Driving Experience
Shopping Cart - 0 Items | Total: £0.00

Every journey ends with a memory.

Diesel Footplate Experience

Realise a lifelong ambition with us

A fantastic opportunity to drive a diesel locomotive

Diesel Footplate Experience . . .

£375 per person

There is nothing quite like the sight and sound of a diesel locomotive in full cry! Choose your locomotive and experience the power and surge of adrenaline as you take the controls of your favourite Class on our full day Experience, including a tour of Kidderminster Diesel Depot!

Our Diesel Footplate Experiences operate throughout the year utilising our heritage fleet of diesel electric and hydraulic locomotives. The train normally consists of six carriages, weighing approximately 200 tons in which up to six of your guests can travel free of charge.

Diesel locomotives used:

  • Class 40 - No. 40106 Atlantic Conveyor
  • Class 42 'Warship' - No. D821 Greyhound
  • Class 50 - No. 50031 Hood, No. 50035 Ark Royal or No. 50049 Defiance
  • Class 52 'Western' - No. D1015 Western Champion or No. D1062 Western Courier
  • Class 55 'Deltic' - No. 55019 'Royal Highland Fusilier'
What's included:
  • Safety briefing before the session commences.
  • Tour of the locomotive engine room, including a start-up procedure demonstration.
  • Travel in the cab; driving for 8 miles, and acting as second man for 8 miles. A further 16 miles is spent in the rear cab of the locomotive (only available when locomotives with 2 cabs are used), and an additional 32 miles spent riding in the private train pulled by the locomotive.
  • Travelling a total journey of 64 miles; going through Bewdley Tunnel, over Victoria Bridge and up Eardington Bank.
  • Tour of award-winning Kidderminster Diesel Depot
  • Only 8 participants per experience.
  • You can bring along up to 6 guests only who can travel in the carriages behind the locomotive (guests must be over the age of 5) free of charge.
  • Opportunities for photographs.
  • A presentation folder with a certificate and memento of your experience. 
The Railway will be contacting those people booked on dates shown as 'Cancelled' [due to the Coronavirus closure] in the near future.
2020 Dates Timings
Starting Station  Price
Loco Class  Availability
Sunday 26th April - CANCELLED
9.45am - 6.45pm Kidderminster £375 Class 40 Fully booked
Monday 4th May - CANCELLED 9.45am - 6.45pm Kidderminster £375 Class 42 Places available
Monday 11th May - CANCELLED 9.45am - 6.45pm Kidderminster £375 Class 55 Fully booked
Tuesday 12th May  - CANCELLED 9.45am - 6.45pm Kidderminster £375 Class 55 1 Place available
Tuesday 19th May - CANCELLED 9.45am - 6.45pm Kidderminster £375 Class 55 Places available
Wednesday 20th May - CANCELLED 9.45am - 6.45pm Kidderminster £375 Class 55 1 Place available
Sunday 31st May - CANCELLED 9.45am - 6.45pm Kidderminster £375 Class 55 Fully booked
Monday 1st June - CANCELLED 9.45am - 6.45pm Kidderminster £375 Class 55 Places available
Sunday 7th June - CANCELLED 9.45am - 6.45pm Kidderminster £375 Class 42 Places available
Sunday 14th June - CANCELLED 9.45am - 6.45pm Kidderminster £375 Class 50 Fully booked
Sunday 21st June - CANCELLED 9.45am - 6.45pm Kidderminster £375 Class 33 Places available
Monday 22nd June - CANCELLED 9.45am - 6.45pm Kidderminster £375 Class 42 Places available
Monday 29th June - CANCELLED 9.45am - 6.45pm Kidderminster £375 Class 40 Places available
Sunday 12th July 9.45am - 6.45pm Kidderminster £375 Class 40 Places available
Monday 13th July 9.45am - 6.45pm Kidderminster £375 Class 40 Places available
Sunday 19th July 9.45am - 6.45pm Kidderminster £375 Class 42 Places available
Monday 20th July 9.45am - 6.45pm Kidderminster £375 Class 42 Places available
Sunday 26th July 9.45am - 6.45pm Kidderminster £375 Class 50 Fully booked
Monday 27th July 9.45am - 6.45pm Kidderminster £375 Class 50 Places available
Sunday 2nd August 9.45am - 6.45pm Kidderminster £375 Class 52 Fully booked
Monday 3rd August 9.45am - 6.45pm Kidderminster £375 Class 52 Fully booked
Monday 10th August 9.45am - 6.45pm Kidderminster £375 Class 50 Places available
Sunday 16th August 9.45am - 6.45pm Kidderminster £375 Class 52 Fully booked
Monday 17th August 9.45am - 6.45pm Kidderminster £375 Class 52 Fully booked
Sunday 23rd August 9.45am - 6.45pm Kidderminster £375 Class 42 Places available
Monday 24th August 9.45am - 6.45pm Kidderminster £375 Class 42 Places available
Monday 7th September 9.45am - 6.45pm Kidderminster £375 Class 52 Fully booked
Sunday 13th September 9.45am - 6.45pm Kidderminster £375 Class 52 Fully booked
Monday 14th September 9.45am - 6.45pm Kidderminster £375 Class 52 Places available

    Email to make an enquiry    Call 01562 757900 to book

    The Engine House
    train cut out